top of page


National History

alpha Kappa Delta Phi was established at the University of California at Berkeley in the fall of 1989, and recognized by the College Panhellenic Association on February 7, 1990. The fourteen founding sisters: Betty Chu, Karin Co, Susan Kim, Nancy Lee, Sherri Leung, Annie Loo, Belinda Ma, Anita Ng, Serene Ngin, Fannie Pon, Josie Sun, Daisy Wu, Jill Yoshimura, and Reina Yuan, dedicated themselves to establishing a strong and lasting organization, which would provide Asian American women the opportunity to participate in the Greek system. Soon after being recognized by the College Panhellenic Association, the founding sisters brought together a diverse group of women who shared with them the goals of sisterhood, scholarship, and leadership. These ideals were to later set the foundation for alpha Kappa Delta Phi’s purpose.


The love and generosity that each member had for the organization was instrumental to the growth of alpha Kappa Delta Phi's reputation as a sorority, as well as to the forging of unbreakable friendships. The sisterhood has since then spread to prominent university campuses across the country. To meet the needs of the growing sisterhood, the National Board of alpha Kappa Delta Phi was established in May of 1993 at the National Convention in Santa Barbara, California.

It is the sincere wish of the founding sisters that alpha Kappa Delta Phi continue to promote Asian Awareness in the community and leadership for women by providing each woman with the resources, unique sisterly support and understanding to achieve her goals in life.

Chapter History

The history of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County chapter began when Jiyoung Roh felt the need to bring forth a colony. She was joined by Min Hee Chung, Youn Son Kim, and Sae Jin Nah, who brought to life the dream of bringing together a strong, independent, and determined group of  women. They shared the vision of creating an opportunity for all women to embrace and unify diversity on campus and in the community.


The founding group was completed with the addition of Christine Choi, Elizabeth Chun, Jessica Hwang, Allie Kim, Amy Ngai, Linh Nguyen, Hannah Suh, and Olivia Yu. These independent women collaborated to form one strong group on campus. As one, they worked to succeed in all their endeavors to become a group of strong-minded women with an influential power. They were devoted to building everlasting friendships and strong bonds through shared experiences and promoting campus awareness of minority issues.


The values of academic success, Asian awareness, and sisterhood will continue to flourish as their goals, dreams, and visions remain infinite. Learning through hardships and unforgettable experiences, the ladies at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County will  forever strive to achieve “Timeless Friendship Through Sisterhood.”

bottom of page